2 Weeks with Ed Sheeran’s “Divide”

     Ed Sheeran is universally viewed as the shit because he seems like a regular,  relatable dude but his feats are honestly far from it. Sheeran’s latest album Divide has been out for 14 days (a fortnight for you fancy folks) and has already broken several world records. The accumulation of world records started back in January when Shape of You, the lead single from Divide, became the most streamed track on Spotify within 24 hours with over 6 million streams in just one day. Divide has not only been commercially successful but it has fared generally positive reviews. While I’m stoked it’s gotten some good reviews, I tend to take other people’s reviews with a grain of salt.
    Writers from companies like NME or Pitchfork review the album the day it comes out, not allowing the listener to get the full effect of the music. I know for me I can listen to a song and hate it at first, and then I’ll listen to it in the right moment, and I’ll love it. For example, I wasn’t a fan of the Chainsmoker’s club banger Closer at first, but then I was a few brewskis deep on the beach and I heard it again and it was music to my ears. You definitely have to give songs a couple listens before you can put your critic pants on.
    I decided to give Divide a good hard listen over the two weeks in order for me to become acquainted with each song before I provide an opinion on the album. I also decided to rank each song on the record from my least favorite to my favorite.

DISCLAIMER: The songs that rank on the least favorite portion of this list are still pretty darn good.

16.) Hearts Don’t Break Around Here

Hearts Don’t Break Around Here is thrown into the middle the record at track number 9, which is usually the place for the more forgotten songs of an album. It’s a very simple track with minimal production, which is something that is common throughout Divide. Overall, compared to the other love songs on this LP, this track falls short.

Best Lyrics: 
Took my heart upon a one way trip
Guess she went wandering off with it
Unlike most women I know
This one will bring it back whole

15.) Bibia Be Ye Ye

This song was definitely an experimental track and feels a tad out of place on the album. However, it is a nice uptempo change up from the majority of the tracks on the record. For those of you wondering, “Bibia Be Ye Ye” means “all will be well” in one of Ghana’s language, Twi.

Best Lyrics:
And I am only, being honest with you, I I get lonely

And make mistakes from time to time
Se enioma enko ye (if thing’s aren’t going well)
Bibia Be Ye Ye

14.) How Would You Feel (Paen)

How Would You Feel is truly poetic but is overshadowed by other power ballads on the record. Similarly to Hearts Don’t Break Around Here,  the production of this song is minimal, but it does have a nice guitar solo during the bridge of the song which sounds pretty John Mayer-esque.

Best Lyrics:
Every moment that I spend with you

We were sat upon our best friend’s roof
I had both of my arms round you
Watching the sunrise replace the moon.

13.) Barcelona

Sheeran has stated he wrote Divide while traveling throughout world, and it is apparent his travels have affected his writing. This upbeat song incorporates Spanish style and language all while comparing his night to a night in Barcelona Spain. Overall this song is fun and catchy, but I couldn’t imagine it performing well on radio.

Best Lyrics:
You and I we’re flying on an aeroplane tonight

We’re going, somewhere where the sun is shining bright
Just close your eyes, and let’s pretend we’re dancing in the street
In Barcelona

12.) Nancy Mulligan

This one is a fan favorite and has already made it’s way into the iTunes top 20, so I’m sure i’ll get shit for putting it at number twelve. While I am a big fan of this song, some of the other songs on the record have appealed to me more. Nancy Mulligan is heavily influenced by Sheeran’s time in Ireland and even features an accordion and bag pipes; leave it to Ed Sheeran to create a mainstream song featuring bag pipes. Fun fact: it has been said that this song is about how Ed’s grandparents, William and Anne, met.

Best Lyrics:
Well, met her at Guy’s in the second world war

And she was working on a soldier’s ward
Never had I seen such beauty before
The moment that I saw her

11.) Save Myself

Save Myself is the album’s closer and is very simple production wise. Sheeran ditches the bagpipes, electronic instruments, and guitar for a stripped down piano and strings ballad about being fed up with people walking all over him. Save Myself is definitely one of the best written songs on the record, that can resonate with a wide audience.

Best Lyrics:
So before I save someone else 

I’ve got to save myself

10.) Eraser

Eraser opens the record where Sheeran’s sophomore album Multiply left off. This song features classic ed-rap over drum heavy beats and some electric guitar riffs. It almost feels like a part 2 to Sheeran’s The Man. Overall Eraser is the type of song you can listen to regardless of your mood, making it a solid addition to Divide.

Best Lyrics:
And to the next generation, inspiration’s allowed

The world may be filled with hate, but keep erasing it now, somehow

 

9.) Castle on the Hill

This song is such a great singalong song. Just last night actually I was driving down the highway with a friend in the car and we were relatively quiet until this song came on. Castle on the Hill turned us into the choir from Michael Jackson’s Man in the Mirror and we really didn’t care.

Best Lyrics:
I’m on my way

Driving at ninety down those country lanes
Singing to “Tiny Dancer”
And I miss the way you make me feel, and it’s real
We watched the sunset over the castle on the hill

8.) Galway Girl

   With it being Saint Patrick’s Day, Sheeran couldn’t have released this song at a better time. In fact, the Irish infused Galway Girl has outperformed all other non-single songs on Divide in part because of the holiday. Similarly to Nancy Mulligan, this song will make you want to break out an Irish jig. I can definitely see this song as Ed’s next single.

Best Lyrics:
So I took her hand and I gave her a twirl

And I lost my heart to a Galway girl
When I woke up I was all alone
With a broken heart and a ticket home

 

7.) Dive

This song is great and the only thing preventing it from being in the top three is it’s uncanny resemblance to Sheeran’s Grammy award winning hit Thinking Out Loud. It’s still a great song to scream in the car.

Best Lyrics:
So don’t call me baby

Unless you mean it
Don’t tell me you need me
If you don’t believe it
So let me know the truth
Before I dive right into you

6.) What Do I Know?

What Do I Know? has such a great message that it’ll immediately make you happy whenever you hear it. The song itself is pretty simple and I can’t imagine it ever making radio, but it still a great song nonetheless.

Best Lyrics:
Everybody’s talking ’bout exponential growth

And the stock market crashing in their portfolios
While I’ll be sitting here with a song that I wrote
Sing, love could change the world in a moment
But what do I know?

5.) New Man

Top 5 baby let’s go! Sheeran spends the duration of the time shitting on his ex and his ex’s new boyfriend, making this the ultimate diss track. New Man is similar to Multiply’Don’t, but unique enough to stand on it’s on. I bet you this makes it to radio after Galway Girl.

Best Lyrics:
Your new man rents a house in the burb, and wears a man bag on his shoulder but I call it a purse

Every year he goes to Malaga, with all the fellas, drinks beer but has a six pack, I’m kind of jealous
He wears sunglasses indoors in winter at nighttime, and every time a rap song comes on
He makes a gun sign, says chune, boydem light up the room

4.) Supermarket Flowers

Supermarket Flowers is hands down the best written song on this entire album. Ed sings through the eyes of his mother dealing with the loss of her own mother, his grandmother.The song is interesting because Sheeran illustrates death throughout  the song, but views it in a positive light as opposed to something scary. The song is incredibly emotionally and immediately hits you in the feels.

Best Lyrics:
When I fell down you’d be there holding me up

Spread your wings as you go, when God takes you back
He’ll say Hallelujah, you’re home

3.) Happier

Happier is another power ballad – this time about how each person feels after their relationship has ended. The lyrics are very relatable and are sung over a more produced track with strings, drums, guitar, and piano. It’s an extremely emotional song that has strung out notes that are fun to sing along to.

Best Lyrics:
Cause baby you look happier, you do
My friends told me one day I’ll feel it too
And until then I’ll smile to hide the truth
But I know I was happier with you

2.) Shape of You

It goes without saying that Shape of You is an absolute banger. The song has been number 1 in over 20 countries and has broken several world records. Shape of You is perfect for any occasion and is great, unique sound from Ed.

Best Lyrics:
Your love was handmade for somebody like me

1.) Perfect

Perfect is destined for success. It has the perfect amount of production and incredible lyrics. Sheeran sings about his love life in a whimsical way, creating surreal imagery. All I’m saying is if there is ever a music video for this song, expect some Taylor Swift Speak Now era vibes. Pardon the pun but this song is perfect!

Best Lyrics:
Baby, I’m dancing in the dark, with you between my arms

Barefoot on the grass, listening to our favorite song
I have faith in what I see
Now I know I have met an angel in person
And she looks perfect, I don’t deserve this
You look perfect tonight

LIKE WHAT YOU READ? CHECK ME OUT ON SOCIAL MEDIA!
TWITTER: @BRENDANJEANETTI
INSTAGRAM: @BRENDANJEANNETTI

 

 

 

Leave a comment